Middle States Reaccreditation

Each accredited institution of higher learning is required to periodically undergo a review by its accrediting agency. This review typically includes a rigorous self-study and feedback from peer institutions.

For ACPHS, our institution-wide accreditation is provided by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education. During the last Middle States review which culminated in 2010, the College received the then maximum 10-year reaccreditation.

The process to extend our accreditation began in February 2018 and will continue through spring 2020 per the below timeline. In spring 2018, the College completed the Self-Study Design. This document will serve as the blueprint for the entire Self-Study process, including the final Self-Study Report. It will guide the efforts of the Steering Committee and Working Groups as they engage in discussions, inquiry, and report preparation.


The reaccreditation process will be a true community-wide initiative, and it is the Steering Committee who will drive this effort in close collaboration with the working groups.

The Steering Committee members are:

  • Dave Clarke (Co-Chair) - Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences
  • Sue Iwanowicz (Co-Chair) - Director of Library Services
  • Nick Balk - Director of Admissions
  • Vaishali Jahagirdar - Director of Institutional Effectiveness
  • Nicole Lodise - Professor, Department of Pharmacy Practice
  • Mike Racz - Associate Professor, Department of Basic and Clinical Sciences


Below is the list of Self-Study Working Groups and Group Leaders. The focus of each group aligns with one of the seven standards for accreditation as outlined by Middle States.

  1. Mission and Goals - Martha Hass, Associate Professor and Dean of Graduate Studies 
  2. Ethics and Integrity - Peter Cornish, Director of Counseling and Wellness, Division of Student Affairs 
  3. Design and Delivery of the Student Learning Experience - Michael Pittman, Associate Professor and Chair of the Department of Humanities and Communication 
  4. Support of the Student Experience - Luke Schmonsky, Director of Center for Student Success, Division of Student Affairs 
  5. Educational Effectiveness Assessment - Aimee Strang, Assistant Dean for Curricular Assessment and Associate Professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice 
  6. Planning, Resources, and Institutional Improvement - Lisa Fiori, Comptroller, Department of Finance 
  7. Governance, Leadership and Administration - Jeff Voigt, Associate Professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences 

The above-listed groups will be assisted by two additional working groups:

  • Compliance Report - Tiffany Gutierrez, Vice President of Enrollment Management 
  • Evidence Inventory Management - Kate Wantuch, Systems and Metadata Librarian 

Click the following link to view the memberships of each of the Self-Study Work Groups.


The below timeline provides an overview of the key milestones during the Self-Study process. 

Phases Timeframe
Creation of the Self-Study Design document Feb. - April 2018
Evidence Inventory Development April - Sept. 2018
Working Group analysis of data and drafting of Self-Study report Sept. 2018 - Feb. 2019
Community review and revisions of draft report March - May 2019
Submission of final Self-Study report to MSCHE Fall 2019
Self-Study Site Visit Spring 2020