Meet the President

Toyin Tofade


Prior to her appointment as ACPHS President in July 2022, Toyin Tofade served as the dean and professor at the Howard University College of Pharmacy in Washington, D.C.

Dr. Tofade also served in multiple roles at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy (UMSOP) in Baltimore including associate professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science and associate director and assistant dean of the Experiential Learning Program. She served as a pharmacist and a clinical specialist in the general medicine service at University of North Carolina (UNC) hospitals as well as director of pharmacotherapy services at the Wake Area Health Education Center (AHEC).

Pharmacy Leadership

Dr. Tofade was appointed in 2020 as president-elect of the International Pharmacy Federation (FIP) academic pharmacy section, a global federation representing over five million pharmacists and pharmaceutical scientists. She is the first Black female to serve as president of the academic section in its 50-plus years of existence. In 2018, she was the first Black woman to be named an FIP Fellow, recognizing her for exhibiting strong leadership internationally, distinguished pharmaceutical sciences and/or practice of pharmacy, and contributions to the advancement of pharmaceutical sciences and/or practice of pharmacy.

On the national front, she was elected as a member of the board for the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy in 2020 and has participated on a variety of diversity, equity and inclusion task forces nationally. Dr. Tofade facilitated meetings with industry leaders and participated in pharmacy coalition meetings to advance provider status in the District of Columbia.

Awards and Recognitions

She has been awarded numerous honors including:


Dr. Tofade received a bachelor’s in pharmacy (BPharm) from Obafemi Awolowo University in Nigeria, as well as a master’s in pharmacy practice and a Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) degree from UNC at Chapel Hill. She received a certificate of public leadership from Harvard Kennedy School. She completed a residency with emphasis on clinical pharmacokinetics from UNC Chapel Hill and an ASHP-accredited residency at UNC hospitals. She is a certified coactive coach and completed the Academic Leadership Academy from the Academic Leadership Institute at Penn State and the Management Development Program from the Harvard Graduate School of Education.