Pharmaceutical Sciences

Associate Professor

(802) 735-2657

Speaker Request
Insong James Lee, Ph.D.


  • Ph.D., Biological Sciences, Department of Biology, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA
  • B.S., Biological Sciences, Department of Biology, State University of New York at Stony Brook, NY


  • PSC-321 and PSC-322: Physiology and Pathophysiology
  • PSC-315: Immunology


  • Mechanism of action of cancer preventives and therapeutics.
  • Liver toxicity of 3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA, ecstasy) and alcohol.  
  • Pharmacogenomics (implementation in the USA healthcare system).
    • Detailing the molecular effects of berry extracts (aronia and seabuckthorn) and other natural compounds on cancer cell growth and death.
    • Elucidation of the mechanism of drug interaction between MDMA and alcohol.


  • Characterization of the anticancer activities of sea buckthorn (Hippophae rhamnoides) berry extracts, CFR&D grant, Notre Dame of Maryland University, Insong James Lee, (PI) 6,000.00 (2015).
  • Anticancer effects of claudin protein repression by indole-3-carbinol, NIH EARDA grant # HD046353-04, $10,000. Insong James Lee (PI) (2009). 
  • Regulation of CYP2B6 in Human Liver, National Institutes of Health: Grant # 2R01DK061652-05A2, $ 1,025,000.00.  Wang HB, Lee IJ, Ross D (2007-2011).
  • Inhibition of the breast cancer marker MUC1 by the chemo-preventative, Indole-3-carbinol, The Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation: Grant # BCTR04025132, $ 249,555.00. Lee IJ (PI) (2004).


  • Teacher of the year 2014 


  • American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
  • American Association for Cancer Research (AACR)
  • American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP)
  • International Society for the Study of Xenobiotics (ISSX)
  • The Association of Biochemistry Educator (ABE)
  • The Rho Chi Honor Society (RHO)


  • Accessibility and coverage of pharmacogenomics testing by major health insurance companies.  Park S, Thigpen J, Lee IJ. (manuscript in preparation).
  • Indole-3-carbinol increases the integrity of tight junctions and represses the level of tight junction proteins, claudin-3 and -4 in cancer cells.  Kim SK, Hassan HE, Eddington ND, Lee IJ. (manuscript in preparation).
  • Increased oxidative-modifications of cytosolic proteins in 3,4- methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA, ecstasy)-exposed rat liver.  Upreti VV, Moon K-H, Yu L-R, Lee IJ, Eddington ND, Ye X, Veenstra TD, Song BJ.  Proteomics 2011 11(2), 202-211. 
  • Mechanisms of MDMA (ecstasy)-induced oxidative stress, mitochondrial dysfunction, and organ damage.  Song B J, Moon KH, Upreti VV, Eddington ND, Lee IJ.  2010. Current Pharmaceutical Biotechnology 2011, 11(5), 434-443.
  • Regulation of gene expression in brain tissues of rats repeatedly treated by the highly abused opioid agonist, oxycodone: microarray profiling and gene mapping analysis.  Hassan HE, Myers AL, Lee IJ, Chen H, Coop A, Eddington ND.  Drug Metab Dispos. 2010 Jan;38(1):157-67.
  • Estradiol and progesterone-mediated regulation of P-gp in P-gp overexpressing cells (NCI-ADR-RES) and placental cells (JAR).  Coles LD, Lee IJ, Voulalas PJ, Eddington ND.  Mol Pharm. 2009 Nov-Dec;6(6):1816-25.
  • Distribution of saquinavir, methadone, and buprenorphine in maternal brain, placenta, and fetus during two different gestational stages of pregnancy in mice. Coles LD, Lee IJ, Hassan HE, Eddington ND.  J Pharm Sci. 2009 Aug;98(8):2832-46.
  • NMR metabolomic analysis of caco-2 cell differentiation. Lee IJ, Hom K, Bai G, Shapiro M.    J Proteome Res. 2009 Aug;8(8):4104-8.
  • Drug interaction between ethanol and 3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine ("ecstasy"). Upreti VV, Eddington ND, Moon KH, Song BJ, Lee IJ.  Toxicol Lett. 2009 Jul 24;188(2):167-72. 
  • Evaluation of the transport, in vitro metabolism and pharmacokinetics of Salvinorin A, a potent hallucinogen. Teksin ZS, Lee IJ, Nemieboka NN, Othman AA, Upreti VV, Hassan HE, Syed SS, Prisinzano TE, Eddington ND.  Eur J Pharm Biopharm. 2009 Jun;72(2):471-7.


  • College Curriculum Committee 
  • Academic Standing Appeals Committee