Press Releases

Assistant Professor Yana Cen Named ACPHS Researcher of the Year

February 1, 2018

Yana_Cen_Press_Release.jpgYana Cen, Ph.D., an Assistant Professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences on the ACPHS Vermont Campus, has been named the 2017 Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Researcher of the Year. Dr. Cen received the award at the 8th Annual ACPHS Research Forum held on January 27, 2018 in the Gozzo Student Center.

The award, which is open to all full-time faculty members at the College, is determined by the nominee’s accomplishments in four categories: (1) External Research Funding, (2) Intellectual Property, (3) Publications, and (4) Mentorship. The period of evaluation was July 1, 2016 - June 30, 2017.

Below is a summary of Dr. Cen’s notable achievements during this timeframe:

  • Awarded a three-year, $480,000 research grant from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Dr. Cen is serving as the Principal Investigator on the project, which is titled “Novel Probes for Sirtuins: A Chemical Biology Approach” (Grant #: 1R15GM123393-01).
  • Listed as a co-inventor of U.S. patent #9,603,862 titled “Activation and Activators of SIRT5.”
  • Published papers in the peer-reviewed journals Annals of Pharmacology and Pharmaceutics and Organic Process Research & Development.
  • Mentored one high school student, seven Pharm.D. students, and one graduate student during the award period. This group of students went on to deliver three poster presentations and assisted Dr. Cen with four other posters. Two of the Pharm.D. students were also winners of ACPHS Summer Research awards.

“The ACPHS Researcher of the Year Award was instituted to recognize the efforts of faculty in advancing knowledge and inspiring continued research excellence at College,” said Shaker A. Mousa, Ph.D., M.B.A., FACC, FACB, Vice Provost of Research at ACPHS. “Dr. Cen’s impressive list of research accomplishments in the past year make her a deserving recipient of this honor and a fitting addition to the list of award winners who preceded her.”